Rwandans Need To Learn Certain British ‘Concepts’

In 2009, Rwanda became the 54th member of the Commonwealth becoming the second country (after Mozambique) not to have any historical ties with the United Kingdom.

Rwanda currently at a size of 12 million people had been a colony of Germany in the 19th century and of Belgium for the first half of the 20th century.

At the beginning of 2000, Rwanda announced it would aspire for greater heights and break away from some historical bottlenecks that may have been blocking its self realisation and determination.

Landlocked Rwanda joined the East African Community in July 2007 and later in 2008 the government decided to change the medium of education from French to English.

Definitely Rwanda’s Foreign relations have been enhanced by joining major global organisations that pool together several countries.

As of today, Rwanda is an active member of; the African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States, African Union, Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, The Commonwealth, Non-Aligned Movement, Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, United Nations and World Trade Organisation.

From these organisations, the blend of culture, education, technology, commerce and other shared interests have propelled Rwanda into a modern state enabling it to walk away from its ugly recent past that had become the only denominator whenever Rwanda was mentioned.

What Rwandans Need to Learn About Commonwealth

Rwanda’s history will never be the same again effective June 2021, as the British monarch and leaders of other 53 countries will descend down to Rwanda’s capital Kigali to attend the 26th meeting of the heads of government of the Commonwealth of Nations (CHOGM).

Possibly after the 26th CHOGM, Rwandans may begin having persons with titles such as Queen’s Counsel, Sir, Lord, and other accolades bestowed upon recipients by the British Monarch.

Queen’s Counsel

This is an advocate appointed by the monarch to be one of ‘Her Majesty’s Counsel learned in the law’ or a King’s Counsel (KC) when the monarch is male. Before 1995, only barristers could be appointed as a QC but the system was changed so that solicitors could too.

How To Become A Sir Or Dame

In Rwanda, there are instances when you overhear someone responding to their boss sounding something like, “Yes Sir” especially in the military where a junior officer will address their superior as Sir. But what does this whole ‘Sir’ thing mean and where does it come from?

This sir/dame title is a very respected and highly sought after title throughout the united kingdom, and it would be an honour to bestow this sir title on those who deserve it.

The term Sir was first used in England in 1297, being used as the title for a Knight. The title Dame as the female equivalent to a Knight wasn’t introduced until 1917 (although of course there were female Knights before this).

Becoming a Sir or Dame comes with joining an elite class with the likes of Sir Bill Gates, Sir Paul McCartney and Dame Angelina Jolie.


Lord” isn’t a title. It’s a style and can be a courtesy title. There are 5 levels of peerage: Duke, Marquess, Earl, Viscount, and Baron. These are hereditary peers.

Lord is an appellation for a person or deity who has authority, control, or power over others
In the United Kingdom the title today denotes a peer of the realm, whether or not he sits in Parliament as a member of the House of Lords.

Special honours

These include; OBE, MBE and CBE are given to recognise people’s amazing achievements and service to the country.

The decision about who gets an honour – and the type of honour they get – is made by a special committee. The committee’s decisions go to the prime minister and then, finally, to the Queen to check it.

People can also have their honour taken away from them if they are disgraced or behave in a bad way.

CBE stands for Commander of the Order of the British Empire; CBE is the highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, followed by OBE and then MBE.

OBE is an order of the British Empire award. It is the second highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, behind CBE but ahead of MBE.  In the recent past, one of the UK envoys in Rwanda held this OBE title- Mr. William Gelling, OBE (British High Commissioner to Rwanda 2014-2017).

It stands for Officer of the Order of the British Empire (as opposed to Commander for a CBE and Member for an MBE).

It is awarded to someone for making a great impact in their line of work.

MBE is an order of the British Empire award. It is the third highest ranking Order of the British Empire award, behind CBE which is first and then OBE.

It stands for Member of the Order of the British Empire (as opposed to Commander or Officer).

It is also awarded to someone for making a positive impact in their line of work.

BEM- stands for a British Empire Medal.

The medal was founded in 1917 and was awarded for “meritorious” actions by civilians or military personnel.

It was scrapped in 1993, but nearly 20 years later, Prime Minister David Cameron brought the medal back.

Latest Posts

Twitter Feeds

Twitter Feeds